Furia – Sunday Funday Review

The Great: The characters! Specifically the main characters Camila and Diego. Camila is the main reason I love this book so much. She’s resilient, ambitious, self-aware and goes after what she wants and what she knows she deserves. She puts her best foot forward in absolutely everything that she does. But what I loved most about her was her fierce loyalty and love for her mama Isabel, brother Pablo, best friend Roxana her team and coach Alicia, as well for her first love Diego. Though that love doesn’t deter her from her dreams of becoming a successful fútbolera. She is La Furia through and through.

Read More

Cinderella is Dead – ARC Tuesday (Wed) Review

The Great: Simply put, the themes.This story definitely showcased a majority of the ways society has negatively impacted women/females. In Cinderella is Dead, Cinderella’s tale is akin to the likes of the bible. And citizens of Lille are expected to know and recite the tale, in reverence and worship. For it is the conditions of their lives. Sound familiar? Also, misogyny played a major role in the general story. The nobility and peasantry alike, delights in oppressing women and young girls in this story. And the anger I felt reading and witnessing how oppressed and sheeplike the citizens were rolled off me in waves. It sincerely frustrated me to no end. And that frustration made me realize just how much of that mentality still exists in today’s society.

Read More

The Gilded Ones – ARC Tuesday Review

Okay I’m going to try my hardest to make this review sensible and not just chock full of gush. Bare with me because I may not succeed.

Read More

The Happy Ever After Playlist – Book Review

Synopsis – Goodreads From the USA Today bestselling author of The Friend Zone comes an adorable and fresh romantic comedy about one trouble-making dog who brings together two perfect strangers. Two years after losing her fiancé, Sloan Monroe still can’t seem to get her life back on track. But one trouble-making pup with a “take me home” look in…

Read More

Woven in Moonlight – Book Review

The Great: Simple answer? The last half of the book. I liked Ximena from the beginning. However, I didn’t fall in love with her until closer to the end. I’m also a huge fan of other characters in the main cast like – Rumi, a healer whose primarily responsible for Ximena while she’s in the castillo awaiting her wedding day to the usurper Atoc; Juan Carlos, a witty and kind half Illustrian, half Llacsan guard in Atoc’s infantry tasked with guarding her while she’s in the castillo; And finally, Suyana, a careful yet kind-hearted maid. They truly brought the story alive!

Read More

Slay

Synopsis – Goodreads By day, seventeen-year-old Kiera Johnson is an honors student, a math tutor, and one of the only Black kids at Jefferson Academy. But at home, she joins hundreds of thousands of Black gamers who duel worldwide as Nubian personas in the secret multiplayer online role-playing card game, SLAY. No one knows Kiera…

Read More

Wild at Heart – ARC Review

Hey there Bookwyrms! About two days ago, I was lucky enough to participate in the Release Blitz for Wild at Heart by K.A. Tucker. I also have the privilege of participating in the Wild at Heart blog tour! Welcome to my stop! From the internationally best-selling author of The Simple Wild comes the continuation of…

Read More

The Raven and the Dove – ARC Review

Synopsis – Goodreads Four fates collide in this avian-inspired, epic fantasy retelling of Tristan and Isolde perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo! A princess longing to be free… On the dawn of her courtship trials, Princess Lyana Aethionus knows she should be focused on winning her perfect mate, yet her thoughts…

Read More

Hearts on Hold – ARC Review

Okay, you know it’s coming! Charish’s first book, The Write Escape is literally my number one book of 2019. Would you expect any less than gushing praise to come your way regarding Hearts on Hold? You have been warned!

Read More